Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversees the running of the Students’ Union. Our trustees are legally responsible for ensuring that everything we do is in the best interests of our students, that we comply with charity law and also sign off our Strategic Plan to make sure we’re heading in the right direction.

The board meets five times a year and is responsible for directing the affairs of the Students’ Union. To ensure we are solvent, well run and deliver our objectives the board is made up of a mix of five full-time officers, lay trustees and student trustees. 


Chair of The Board

Paul Hogg

Paul has worked as Trust Secretary for Bradford District Care NHS Foundation Trust since 2009, with responsibility for corporate governance, communications and membership engagement. In 2016 he was appointed as Director of Corporate Affairs with additional responsibilities for patient experience, stakeholder engagement and volunteering across the Trust.

Prior to that he held a number of policy roles in various Government Departments in London and Leeds.

Some years ago he completed a post graduate Diploma in Management Studies studying at the Headingley Campus and more recently has been part of the NHS Nye Bevan Leadership Programme.

He believes that university life can provide opportunities to develop a broader set of skills and experiences and a vibrant Students’ Union is an integral part of this. Married with three children, he is an avid cricket supporter.


Lay Trustees

Andrew Harrison

Andrew is a Lay Trustee and also a member of the Audit, Finance and HR Committee.

Graduating from The University of Warwick with a degree in Film & Literature, Andrew went on to hold positions at Kings College London and The University of Sheffield before moving into the marketing and events industry. 

Andrew is a Director of Hopper Events, an events agency based in Sheffield, working with clients such as the BBC, Hull City Of Culture and Radio 1 Academy. 

Outside of work, Andrew collects vinyl records, enjoys real ale and walking in the Dales.


Eleanor Moore

Eleanor is Director of Quality and Student Experience at Leeds Conservatoire.


She has executive leadership responsibility for governance, policy and planning, registry, student services, library services, technology enhanced learning and liaison with the Students' Union. 


Eleanor has been an active member and supporter of students' unions for over twenty years and as an undergraduate was awarded Honorary Life Membership of Durham Students' Union. She is a Fellow of the Association of University Administrators and is currently completing an MA in Education at the University of Derby.



Padma Tadi

Padma is a Senior Associate solicitor at a national law firm. She is based in their Leeds office and specialises in employment and corporate immigration law.

Padma has a wealth of experience in assisting organisations with employment related matters. She advises on day-to-day compliance issues, the implementation of operational policies and the resolution of employment disputes. She also provides strategic advice for businesses growth, restructuring and harmonisation.

Padma believes that a dynamic Students' Union is an key and valuable part of a student’s university experience. She is passionate about supporting LBSU to continue to develop for the benefit of all of its members. Padma encourages people to get involved and to be creative in achieving positive outcomes. Within her own firm, Padma is a "Great Place To Work Champion" and also heads up an initiative to support and promote females in the legal industry.


Jayne Palmer

Jayne has been working in the finance industry for over 19 years, working within practice and industry. She is ACA chartered accountant, and holds a first class honours degree in International Accounting and Finance, working as an auditor for a top 4 accountancy firm. She is based in Newcastle and has a number of years’ experience auditing corporate and not for profit organisations. Part of her role as an auditor is to assess the risks of an organisation, and ensure the financial statements reflect a true and fair account of the financial performance and financial position of the organisation.


Officer Trustees

Barbara Pereira


Barbara is Union Affairs Officer for the Students' Union, elected by the student body in March 2020, and also a Trustee on the Board. 



Sherry Iqbal


Sherry is the Education officer at LBSU, and is currently serving her second term following a successful re-election. Before joining Leeds Beckett Sherry deferred her entry year to take up the role of Students’ Union President at Middlesbrough College Students’ Union, where this sparked her interest in the student movement.


Sherry studied Speech & Language Therapy at Leeds Beckett and was actively engaged in the Students’ Union prior to her election to the role of Education officer. She held positions such as course rep, school rep, BAME rep and president of a number of societies to name a few. Sherry is an officer trustee at LBSU and also a member of the Universities Board of Governors. To find out more about Sherry or get in touch, click here.


Pango Simwaka

Pango is Welfare & Community Officer for the Students' Union, elected by the student body in March 2020 and also a Trustee on the Board. 



Anna Crooks

Anna is Activities & Events Officer for the Students' Union, elected by the student body in March 2020, and also a Trustee on the Board.


Kay Rhoden-Campbell

Kay is Equality & Diversity Officer for the Students' Union, elected by the student body in March 2020, and also a Trustee on the Board.


Student Trustees

Coleen Bergantinos

Coleen co-founded both the LBU's Computing Society and BEckITt Society which she is also President of from 2019 to present. Coleen is an active member of the University being a Course Representative, School of Built Environment, Engineering and Computing's Diversity Representative, Housing Ambassador, Member of the Community Committee and more.

Coleen is a 2018 Princess Diana Awardee from Northern Ireland who received this award for her volunteering, fundraising and campaigning work. A year later she also received Young Person of the Year 2019 of East Belfast, Northern Ireland- awarded by the Eastside Awards and sponsored by the George Best City Airport.


Megan Darroch

Meg is a third year Business Management Student. She is passionate about contributing to the SU’s mission of making students’ lives better and ensuring that all students have a chance to voice their views. Finally, she has a keen interest in governance and being part of the decision making processes of the Students’ Union.




Latoyah Wong

Latoyah Wong is in her second year studying Working with children young people and families. She is also the BAME ambassador for the school of Health and community studies. Her passions are supporting families to better and empower their lives and supporting students to ensure their voices are heard. She is also a mature student and a mother of 3. Fun fact about Latoyah is that she likes watching horror films but she has to leave the light on.




See Board of Trustees Minutes Here
Registered in England Company Number: 7103465
Registered Charity Number: 1139314